Science discovery analysis, Astronomy news and Space Mission Exploration.

Visible light helps to understand the Universe.

The Hubble telescope has used its five science instruments to help unravel the Universe; Hubble observes mainly in the ultraviolet and visible parts of the spectrum, but also has some near-infrared capabilities; Hubble observes any single object. in different wavelength bands, and each provides different information on the object under study.

Researchers analyze the light collected by the Space Telescope to understand the Universe, the telescope collects the light, and with the help of this data from the Telescope, researchers can collect more information about specific celestial objects, because such celestial bodies  allow to develop better theories about the past, present and future and the universe in general.

Researchers say that we humans’ eyes also collect light, but they collect much less light than the space telescope, the part of the electromagnetic radiation that the human eye is sensitive to, is called visible light,  The human eye is able to see visible light because visible light is about 400 nm to 700 nm in the spectrum of electromagnetic waves.

Researchers generally classify electromagnetic radiation (EMR) by wavelength into radio waves, microwaves, infrared, visible spectrum, which we see as light, ultraviolet, X-rays and gamma rays.  The electromagnetic spectrum is a range of wavelengths, ranging from long to shortest wavelengths, including radio waves, microwaves, infrared, visible light, ultraviolet, X-rays, and gamma rays.

Waves in the electromagnetic spectrum do not require any material to travel, as they can – unlike sound – and travel through empty space.  Like all waves, the EM wave has a wavelength characteristic, and the wavelengths we observe range from very long to very short, which is what we call the EM spectrum.

The electromagnetic spectrum covers electromagnetic waves with frequencies ranging from one hertz to 10–25 Hz, corresponding to wavelengths ranging from thousands of kilometers to a fraction of the size of an atomic nucleus, and this frequency range varies widely.  Divided into bands, electromagnetic waves within each frequency band are known by different names, starting with the lower frequency (longer wavelength) of the spectrum, such as microwaves, infrared, visible light, ultraviolet, X-rays. and gamma rays at the high frequency (short wavelength) end.  Electromagnetic waves in each band have different characteristics, how they are generated, and how they interact with matter.

Every single object in the Universe emits visible light, as do planets, galaxies, and most celestial bodies all emit EM waves at different wavelengths, and so space telescopes are designed to be sensitive to different parts of the EM spectrum.  is done.  EM radiation in and around most of the visible part of the spectrum is often referred to as ‘light’, with shorter wavelengths being ‘bluer’ and longer wavelengths being ‘redder’.

Space telescope data allows researchers to combine observations at different wavelengths to develop a more complete picture of an object’s structure, or behavior, than can only show visible wavelengths.

Visible light helps to understand the Universe.

Leave a ReplyCancel reply

Scroll to top

Achieve Post